Clean Eating: Have I Been Eating Dirty All This Time?

Soooooo, #OuterSkinnyGirl is going on a trip to Jamaica in June. She’s asked me to help her make sure she looks good in her bathing suits. I wanna help. I really do, but food is just so tasty! And it doesn’t help that Rita’s always has my favorite flavor ices or that my friends keep inviting me to places where there’s lots of food and drink. I try to help out by letting her exercise as much as she wants with no complaints from me, but apparently this is not enough. So, we’ve compromised. #OuterSkinnyGirl says I can eat whatever I want until June 1st. After that, we’ll be eating clean until the trip on June 19th. What’s “clean eating?”

20130519-093924.jpg

Dr.David Katz, director of the Yale University Prevention Research Center says, “Food that’s clean is food that’s for the most part real food and not encumbered with things that compromise health: artificial flavorings, artificial colorings, sugar substitutes.”

The clean eating rule of thumb: The shorter the ingredient list, the better. No specific food is off-limits as long as it’s a real, honest-to-goodness food. In other words, this isn’t a “diet” that bans bread or sacrifices sugar.

At first I snickered at #OuterSkinnyGirl. Let’s be real here. What can she accomplish in a little over two weeks of clean eating and exercise? She’s only going to give me free reign on the resort and all her hard work will have been for naught. But now that I think about it, I’m kinda mad! I have to exercise AND cook?!! This food better be good!! If this clean eating thing tastes like eating a plate of grass with a side of dirt, you are gonna hear about it!

But, let’s not get too ahead of ourselves here. Today is only May 19th and I’ve got a reservation at The Palm tomorrow to celebrate Burger Month. #LifeIsGood #InnerPhatGirl

Leave a Reply

